Your Preferred Youtube Video Resolution?

If you have a super fast Internet connection you probably watch all your Youtube videos at their maximum resolution. Most gaming videos are uploaded at 720p which looks absolutely stunning but:

  1. My connection is either not fast enough
  2. Youtube might be throttled by my ISP
  3. Flash performance in Linux sucks
  4. Streaming videos over wifi in my house sucks

So I rarely watch videos in 720p. I know, I know. Sorry David and all you other commentators who spend hours rendering videos in high resolution. Even watching a video in 360p can be a challenge sometimes.

Watching videos on the iPad Youtube app is a lesson in patience. By default it picks a high quality setting and can’t be changed. If I view the video in Safari I can unclick the HQ button, but I think it changes the video quality to 240p as the quality is really bad.

So, what video resolution do you watch Youtube videos in? On a related note, what resolution do you watch WordPress.com VideoPress videos in? I find they can sometimes stream a lot better …